Sunday, June 24, 2012

Be Honest

Most golfers know the Rules state you can only carry 14 clubs in your bag. Have 15 clubs and you're penalized two strokes for every hole you had 15, maximum four-stroke penalty.

A European player had 15 clubs in his bag. He didn't know, but his caddy did. When the caddy discovered the extra club, he took the bag into the bushes and tried to hide it. I didn't make this up.

The other two players noticed the caddy disappeared in the bushes with the bag and asked what was up? Then the caddy admitted it. When tour officials discovered how egregious the caddy's behavior was, they DQ-ed the player. OUCH! Not going to be finding any looping job soon, I'd say.

Worst case of caddy behavior I've heard. If you've discovered you've broken a rule, be honest and don't make a bad situation worse.

No comments: